The Benefits of PRSSA!

prssa_nat_comm_fountain

Photo Credit via PRSSA

Throughout my three years of college, I haven’t had much experiences or engagement with campus organizations. After I graduate, I have a couple of ideas in mind of what I would like to do but I’m not so sure if I would get approved for the positions. Graduate school for public relations? That’s not even a thought for me. Most people go to work after getting their B.A. degree, especially if you want to work in a specialized field like PR. However, a simple graduate degree is not going to help me get an entry-level job in PR, but work experience will. It would be better for me to obtain a public relations internship for a few months, then a full-time job.
After taking a public relations course, I have discovered a new path, Public Relations Student Society of America. PRSSA is an organization for students interested in public relations and communications. Joining your local chapter of the PRSSA can help you better network with professionals in the field. It is made up of more than 11,000 students and advisers organized into 300 plus chapters in the United States and one in Argentina. PRSSA helps you enhance your education, broaden your network and launch your career in public relations. The membership fee is only $60 a year. It recommend great places to study, get you the experience you need as an intern to become a professional and keep you updated with on industry trends after you have excelled in your career. If you haven’t done so already, now would be a good time to start volunteering on one of your PRSA’s committees and attending conferences. My plan is to join PRSSA and gain a little more knowledge on what opportunities Public Relations offer. I will be sure to share my future experiences  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

